Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Register
Community Search
Sign In

Forgot your password?

Haven't registered yet?

Welcome to the Arizona Ophthalmological Society's Website 

We are pleased to provide this information as a service to the public and to the ophthalmological community.
The Arizona Ophthalmological Society was conceived to serve as a source of educational, social, and ethical exchange for the member Eye MDs of the State of Arizona. 


Legislative Day & Annual Free Glaucoma Screening Day at the State Capitol  

As a member of the Arizona Ophthalmological Society, we would like to invite you to join us on Tuesday, February 10, 2015 at the Arizona State Capitol, 1700 West Washington in Phoenix in the Senate Majority Caucus Room for a casual luncheon with Arizona State Legislators.  This luncheon will be an opportunity to meet with our Senators and Representatives who share with you the goal of assuring that the citizens of Arizona receive the best medical care available.  

This event will be held in conjunction with our Annual Free Glaucoma Screening which will provide free eye screenings between 9:00 am and 3:00 pm in the Arizona Medical Eye Unit (AMEU).  The AMEU will be parked in the Senate bus pull-out on 17th Avenue just north of Jefferson.  If you are interested in assisting with these screenings, please let us know. 

The luncheon will be held between noon and 2:00 pm and in addition to meeting with state legislators, our Society lobbyists will provide an update on current advocacy issues of relevance to you and the practice of Ophthalmology in Arizona.

We hope that you will be able to join us in the Senate Majority Caucus Room between noon and 2:00 pm on Tuesday, February 10, 2015.

RSVP to Patrice by February 6 at 602.347.6901 or via email at if you can be there for lunch.

Hope to see you there! 



Our 2015 Grand Canyon Regional Ophthalmology Meeting in Flagstaff on June 26-28 at the High Country Conference Center is under development. Find more information here.


Arizona Ophthalmological Society (AOS) Foundation 

The Arizona Ophthalmological Society is proud to announce that we now have the Arizona Ophthalmological Society (AOS) Foundation.

The mission of the AOS Foundation is to provide education and assistance with a goal toward excellence in eye care for physicians and patients.

The AOS Foundation, a component Foundation of the Arizona Community Foundation, is a non-profit 501 (c) 3 organization created to help the Arizona Medical Eye Unit (AMEU) and other programs.

2013 Glaucoma Screening Day at the Capitol

The AMEU began in 1976 as a rural outreach program for patients without access to an ophthalmologist (a medical and surgical eye physician, or eye MD). The program was a collaborative effort with the University of Arizona Department of Ophthalmology and hundreds of AOS volunteer ophthalmologists. Greg King has been Acting Director since its inception. His success in establishing long-term relationships with rural clinics has allowed thousands of patients to receive timely and necessary eye care from a board certified ophthalmologist. The program expanded its scope in 2008 with the help of the Arizona Lions Eye Organization.

Thanks to support received, a new truck was purchased.  The next goal is to purchase a new trailer for the Arizona Medical Eye Unit (AMEU) with updated equipment.  Read all about it and other news on the NEW AOS Foundation website.

Donations can be made online here.